Stuffed Zucchini Recipe

A lot of people get excited for summer, because it is a good time to grow your own fruits, veggies, and flowers. While it might not be as action packed of an adventure, it is a very traditional form of enjoying the outdoors. There is also certainly room for exploration as you see new plants you are sure you never planted popping up, funky little bugs, and animals that are just as excited to enjoy this new feast as you are. Though you might not necessarily have planned to invite these creatures over for dinner, they are still an incredible sight to see.

My mom loves gardening, and I grew up with it. Often she was busy working hard, and I was busy being a kid making flower necklaces, watching butterflies, and mashing up petals and berries to make my own unique artwork. However, as I grow older, I have learned to appreciate the value of growing your own food. With how high the prices of the market jump each year, being able to garden well is becoming a real money saving attribute.

The thing with gardening is that you get a whole lot all at once. It’s important to find lots of ways to make unique dinners from the same ingredients or you’ll get bored of your wealth of food fast. There are many ways to preserve and stretch the life, but having a large list of recipes can be helpful too. Right now I am finding myself piled in Zucchini. I made Zucchini Parmesan, enjoyed Zucchini bread, and even chop it up into salads. Tonight, I tried something new with the Zucchini and I really enjoyed it.

zucchini

You Need:

Zucchini
Prosciutto
Peppered salami
Feta cheese Crumbles

I took a couple of the zucchini, chopped off the ends, and then cut them in half lengthwise. Then I took a spoon and gutted the inside (seeds and soft parts) into a bowl. This made the boats. Once I cut all the zucchini I wanted, I placed the boats on a pan to get them ready. I used a cookie sheet with oil sprayed aluminum foil on top. I took the insides of the zucchini and sauteed them in a skillet with cut up pieces of prosciutto and peppered salami. I tossed them until warm and the zucchini was gooey. It took about 3 minutes.

Meanwhile, have the oven pre-heating to 375 degrees. Fill the zucchini boats with the zucchini inside, prosciutto, and salami mix. Then top with feta cheese. I also sprinkled feta on the bottom of the zucchini boats before adding the mix, but it is up to you. Then I put it in the oven to bake for 12 minutes. The meat and cheese was crispy, salty and very flavorful, which compliments the slightly sweet, blander flavor of zucchini well. Having all these food groups makes it feel like a full meal. Having the meats and cheese so flavorful limits a need for spices, in my opinion.

Since it came out tasty and had the lightness a summer meal deserves, I thought I’d post it for others to try out. Let me know what you think or variations you come up with.

Leave a Reply

